Monday, November 12, 2018

Internet Baseball Writers Select Ohtani (AL) and Acuna (NL) As Top Rookies

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its rookie category Monday, with the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim’s Shohei Ohtani winning the 2018 IBWAA American League Rookie of the Year award, and Ronald Acuna Jr., of the Atlanta Braves, being selected as the 2018 IBWAA National League Rookie of the Year winner. This is the tenth annual election for the IBWAA in the rookie category. Election results are as follows:

AL Rookie: 
1st Place: Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – 451 points
2nd Place: Miguel Andujar, New York Yankees – 375 points
3rd Place:  Gleyber Torres, New York Yankees – 176 points

NL Rookie:
1st Place: Ronald Acuna Jr., Atlanta Braves – 570 points
2nd Place: Juan Soto, Washington Nationals – 378 points
3rd Place: Walker Buehler, Los Angeles Dodgers – 77 points

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January. FenwayNation Editor-In-Chief Ernie Paicopolos and International Editor Mark Lawrence are voting members of the IBWAA.