Monday, November 12, 2018

Internet Baseball Writers Pick Hader (NL) And Diaz (AL) As Top Relievers

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its relief pitcher category Sunday, with the Milwaukee Brewers’ Josh Hader winning the 2018 IBWAA Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year Award and Edwin Diaz, of the Seattle Mariners, being selected as the 2018 IBWAA Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year.  The relief pitcher awards were established in 2010. Election results are as follows: 

NL Relief Pitcher: 
1st Place: Josh Hader, Milwaukee Brewers – 326 points
2nd Place: Kenley Jansen, Los Angeles Dodgers– 162 points
3rd Place: Jeremy Jeffress, Milwaukee Brewers – 148 points

AL Relief Pitcher: 
1st Place: Edwin Diaz, Seattle Mariners – 465 points
2nd Place: Blake Treinen, Oakland Athletics – 458 points
3rd Place: Craig Kimbrel, Boston Red Sox – 128 points

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January. FenwayNation Editor-In-Chief Ernie Paicopolos and International Editor Mark Lawrence are voting members of the IBWAA.