Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Internet Baseball Writers Pick Snell (AL) And deGrom (NL) Cy Young Winners

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its Cy Young category Wednesday, with the Tampa Bay Rays’ Blake Snell winning the group’s American League prize, and Jacob deGrom, of the New York Mets, being selected in the National League vote. This is the tenth annual election for the IBWAA in the Cy category.

Election results are as follows:

AL Cy Young:
1st Place: Blake Snell, Tampa Bay Rays – 731 points
2nd Place: Justin Verlander, Houston Astros – 462 points
3rd Place: Chris Sale, Boston Red Sox – 336 points
4th Place: Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians – 298 points
5th Place: Gerit Cole, Houston Astros – 150 points

NL Cy Young:
1st Place: Jacob deGrom, New York Mets – 828 points
2nd Place: Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals – 564 points
3rd Place: Aaron Nola, Philadelphia Phillies – 389 points
4th Place: Kyle Freeland, Colorado Rockies – 155 points
5th Place: Patrick Corbin, Arizona Diamondbacks – 92 points

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January. FenwayNation Editor-In-Chief Ernie Paicopolos and International Editor Mark Lawrence are voting members of the IBWAA.