Thursday, January 25, 2018

Four Into Hall Of Fame, Curt Schilling Gains Ground

The MLB Hall Of Fame and the Baseball Writers' Association Of America announced four new inductees last night: Chipper Jones, Jim Thome, Vladimir Guerrero and Trevor Hoffman. Red Sox legend Curt Schilling picked up significant ground over last year's vote—getting 51.2% of the writers' votes (up from 45.0% in 2017). That 2017 result was a dip from the 52.3% he got in 2016—which many suspect was due to the pitcher's controversial political views. Thankfully, it looks like the writers have shed their political biases this year. Roger Clemens, who won three of his seven Cy Young awards while with the Red Sox, gained 57.3% of the vote—but it's unlikely he will progress to the needed 75% in the years he is still eligible. Manny Ramirez remained mired at just 22.0%—and will likely never reach Cooperstown.