Thursday, September 27, 2012

Red Sox Announce Three 'All-Fenway' Teams

Pedey Joins All-Fenway 1st Team (FenwayNation Photo)
Say what you will about the NOG (and we certainly do say a lot), but when The Mad Dentist puts on a ceremony, it is Hollywood good. Dr. Charles Steinberg, the Red Sox PR guru, orchestrated a classy, low-key presentation of the All-Fenway Team last night—a 40-player and 3 manager group of the 'best of the best' in Boston baseball history. Three All-Fenway squads were voted by fans, baseball historians and front office staff. The teams look like this:

FIRST TEAM: Fisk C, Foxx 1B, Pedroia 2B, Boggs 3B, Garciaparra SS, Williams LF, Lynn CF, Evans RF, Martinez RHP, Grove LHP, Papelbon CL, Ortiz DH, Carbo PH, Roberts PR. Francona MGR.

SECOND TEAM: Varitek C, Vaughn 1B, Doerr 2B, Lowell 3B, Pesky SS, Yastrzemski LF, DiMaggio CF, Nixon RF, Ps—Clemens, Tiant, Wakefield, Eckersley, Radatz. Cronin MGR.

THIRD TEAM: Gedman C, Scott 1B, Remy 2B, Malzone 3B, Petrocelli SS, Rice  LF, Smith CF, Conigliaro RF, Ps—Ruth, Wood, Schilling, Lee, Lonborg. Williams MGR.