Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Internet Baseball Writers: Guerrero & Rodriguez For HOF

Guerrero (L); Rodriguez (R)
The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) today selected Vladimir Guerrero and Ivan Rodriguez as their Hall Of Fame selections—both with 84.54% of the vote (175 votes). As with the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, selection by the IBWAA requires a 75% threshold. Mike Mussina came up one vote short of selectionfinishing in third place with 74.88% of the vote. Here are the results for some players on the ballot with Red Sox connections: Roger Clemens (71.50%), Curt Schilling (57.97%), Manny Ramirez (52.66%), Billy Wagner (40.58%), Lee Smith (31.40%), Tim Wakefield (3.86%), Jason Varitek (3.38%), Matt Stairs (2.90%), Edgar Renteria (1.93%), J.D. Drew (0.97%), Mike Cameron (0.48%), Freddy Sánchez (0.00%) and Orlando Cabrera (0.00%). Jeff Bagwell (2015), Edgar Martinez (2016) and Tim Raines (2015) did not appear on the 2017 IBWAA Hall of Fame ballot because they have already been honored in previous IBWAA elections. With those exceptions, the IBWAA ballot was identical to the one used by the BBWAA. All voting is done electronically. FenwayNation's Editor-In-Chief Ernie Paicopolos and International Editor Mark Lawrence are both proud members of IBWAA.