Monday, November 10, 2014

Internet Baseball Writers Name Rookies O' Year

deGrom (L); Abreu (R)
The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) has announced its choices for the AL and NL Rookies Of The Year. Jose Abreu of the Chicago White Sox was elected as AL Rookie Of The YearMasahiro Tanaka (NYY) finished second and Dellin Betances (NYY) finished third in the overall voting. Jacob deGrom of the New York Mets was named the NL Rookie Of The Year—while Billy Hamilton (CIN) and Ender Inciarte (AZ) finished second and third, respectively. The IBWAA was founded in 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of Members come from organizations such as MLB.comYahoo! Sports, and ESPN. Two members of the FenwayNation staff (Editor-In-Chief Ernie Paicopolos and the International Editor Mark Lawrence) are also members of the IBWAA.