Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Cano And Wright Are All-Star HR Derby Captains

Major League Baseball announced that Robinson Cano (AL) and David Wright (NL) will be the captains for the upcoming All-Star Game Home Run Derby on July 15th at Citi Field in New York. Wright and Cano will be selecting three teammates each to round out the AL and NL squads. It's unclear whether Cano will select Kansas City's Billy Butler—who Cano snubbed when he was captain last year at Kauffman Stadium. Boos rained down on the Empire second baseman throughout the festivities. It's also unclear what impact a Yankee captain will have on the selection of Red Sox players like David Ortiz or Mike Napoli. Cano ended up winning the entire competition in 2011, while Wright was the runner-up back in 2006.