Monday, November 5, 2012

Internet Baseball Writers Pick Cy Young Winners

Dickey (L), Price (R)
The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) has announced its choices for the AL and NL Cy Young Winners. David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays was elected as AL Cy Young. Justin Verlander (Tigers) finished second and Jered Weaver (Angels) finished third in the overall voting. R. A. Dickey of the New York Mets was named the NL Cy Young—while Gio Gonzalez (Nationals) and Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers) finished second and third, respectively. The IBWAA was founded in 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of Members come from organizations such as, Yahoo! Sports, and ESPN. Two members of the FenwayNation staff (the Editor-In-Chief and the Down-Under Editor) are also members of the IBWAA.