Thursday, November 1, 2012

Internet Baseball Writers Pick Managers Of Year

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) has announced their choices for the AL and NL Managers Of The Year. Buck Showalter of the Baltimore Orioles was elected as AL Manager Of The Year. Bob  Melvin (A's) finished second and Joe Maddon (Rays) finished third in the overall voting. Davey Johnson of the Washington Nationals was named the NL Manager Of The Year—while Bruce Bochy (SF) and Dusty Baker (Reds) finished second and third, respectively. The IBWAA was founded in 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of Members come from organizations such as, Yahoo! Sports, and ESPN. Two members of the FenwayNation staff (the Editor-In-Chief and the Down-Under Editor) are also members of the IBWAA.