Friday, November 2, 2012

Internet Baseball Writers Name Top Relievers

Rodney (L), Kimbrel (R)
The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) has announced their choices for the AL and NL Relief Pitchers Of The Year. Fernando Rodney of the Tampa Bay Rays was elected as AL Relief Pitcher Of The Year. Jim Johnson (O's) finished second and Rafael Soriano (Evil Ones) finished third in the overall voting. Craig Kimbrel of the Atlanta Braves was named the NL Relief Pitcher Of The Year—while Aroldis Chapman (Reds) and Jason Motte (Cards) finished second and third, respectively. The IBWAA was founded in 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of Members come from organizations such as, Yahoo! Sports, and ESPN. Two members of the FenwayNation staff (the Editor-In-Chief and the Down-Under Editor) are also members of the IBWAA.