Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Internet Writers Choose Melvin (OAK) And Snitker (ATL) As Managers Of Year

The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its manager category Tuesday, with the Oakland Athletics’ Bob Melvin winning the 2018 IBWAA American League Manager of the Year award, and Brian Snitker, of the Atlanta Braves, being selected as the 2018 IBWAA National League Manager of the Year winner. This is the tenth annual election for the IBWAA in the manager category. Election results are as follows:

AL Manager: 
1st Place: Bob Melvin, Oakland Athletics – 479 points
2nd Place: Kevin Cash, Tampa Bay Rays – 297 points
3rd Place:  Alex Cora, Boston Red Sox – 285 points

NL Manager:
1st Place: Brian Snitker, Atlanta Braves – 502 points
2nd Place: Craig Counsell, Milwaukee Brewers – 311 points
3rd Place: Bud Black, Colorado Rockies – 153 points

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January. FenwayNation Editor-In-Chief Ernie Paicopolos and International Editor Mark Lawrence are voting members of the IBWAA.