Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Red Sox Are One Of Just Four AL Teams In Original City

The rich history of The Carmine Hose is well known by all of us in The Nation. Entering its 116th season, Boston's American League franchise also occupies the oldest ballpark in the game (built in 1912). But it is also interesting to reflect on another piece of lesser-known MLB history that almost seems impossible to be true. Only four current American League franchises operate in the same city they started in: the Red Sox, White Sox, Indians and Tigers. What about The Evil Ones, you are perhaps thinking? Wrong, Bronx Breath! The Pinstriped Posers originated in The Charm City—as the first iteration of the Baltimore Orioles.