Thursday, January 7, 2016

Internet Baseball Writers Choose Two For Hall Of Fame

Griffey, Jr. (L); Martinez (R)
On the day the MLB Hall Of Fame selected Griffey and Piazza as their 2016 inductees, the Internet Baseball Writers Association Of America (IBWAA) selected Ken Griffey, Jr. (with 100% of the vote) and Edgar Martinez (with 75.22% of the vote) as their inductees. A 75% threshold is required for election. Curt Schilling finished in seventh place, with 63.91%—down from 65.64% last year. Mike Piazza, Jeff Bagwell and Tim Raines did not appear on the IBWAA ballot this year—because they were each elected by the group in previous years. Among approximately 400 others, IBWAA members include FenwayNation's Editor-In-Chief Ernie Paicopolos and International Editor Mark Lawrence.