Wednesday, May 14, 2014

MLB Reverses Call On 'Error' In Darvish Game

Big Papi's New Phantom "Hit"
Major League Baseball has reversed a call made on the field during last Friday's Sox-Rangers game—when Yu Darvish carried a no-hitter into the ninth inning. David Ortiz hit a high fly ball to short right in the seventh that was ruled an error on RF Alex Rios—keeping the no-hitter intact. Ortiz later broke up the no-no with a clear hit with two outs in the ninth. The Sox DH had appealed the ruling on the error, and—despite all rational evidence to the contrary—MLB agreed with him. Folks, it was clearly an error. Bad decision, MLB.