Friday, October 15, 2010

Buchholz Is FN Player Of The Year

In the closest vote ever, Clay Buchholz edged out Adrian Beltre as the 2010 FenwayNation Player Of The Year. The Sox right-hander garnered 39.7% of the total vote by FN readers, compared with 37.4% for Beltre.

Buchholz was one of just two certainties in the Sox rotation this year (Lester being the only other) as he compiled a 17-7 record with a stunning 2.33 ERA. In 173.2 innings, he walked 67 and fanned 120—a solid 1.79:1 strike-out-to-walk ratio. Buchholz becomes the only pitcher to win the FN Player Of The Year Award—joining David Ortiz (2004, 2005, 2006); Mike Lowell (2007); Dustin Pedroia (2008) and Jason Bay (2009) as honorees.

Adrian Beltre was equally impressive in what may be his only year donning Carmine Hose, hitting .321 with 28 HRs and 102 RBI.